Login | Help


NYT’s Gretchen Morgenson given financial writers’ lifetime achievement award

Gretchen Morgenson

Gretchen Morgenson, New York Times

New York Times Pulitzer Prize-winning columnist Gretchen Morgenson is the 2010 winner of the New York Financial Writers’ Association’s Elliott V. Bell Award, honoring an individual’s lifetime contributions to the field of financial journalism.

Morgenson, who is also the Times’ assistant business and financial editor, has covered world financial markets for the Times since 1998. She won the Pultizter in 2002 for coverage of Wall Street. Before joining the Times, Morgenson was at Forbes and Worth magazines. | A collection of Morgenson’s NYT’s Fair Game columns.

The NYFWA’s Elliott V. Bell Award presentation ceremony will be on Oct. 7 at the CUNY Graduate School of Journalism.

The Elliott V. Bell Award is named for the longtime editor of Business Week magazine who was the founding president of the NYFWA in 1938. It is awarded annually to “an outstanding journalist who has made a significant long-term contribution to the profession of financial journalism.”

Recent winners include Allan Sloan, Fortune (2009); Jerry Flint, Forbes (2008), and Diana B. Henriques, New York Times (2007). | A full list of the Elliott V. Bell Award winners.

New York Times financial journalist Gretchen Morgenson talks with Marcia Franklin for Idaho Public Television. The conversation took place at the 2009 Sun Valley Writers’ Conference.

In Basics, Best Practices, Networking.

Leave a Comment

1) Register to join the community & comment or 2) Quick comment
Username: Username:
Email: Email:
Verify Password:
or 3) Login if you already have an account