Login | Help


Enter the 2011 Barlett & Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism

trophiesNamed for the two-time Pulitzer Prize winning investigative business journalist team of Don Barlett and Jim Steele, these awards, funded by the Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism, celebrate the best in print and online investigative business journalism.

The annual awards were first given out in fall 2007, and feature a Gold award of $5,000 and a Silver prize of $2,000. Due to the growing number of exceptional submissions each year, a Bronze award of $1,000 has been added in 2011.  Read more about previous winners.

For the 2011 awards, entries must have appeared between July 1, 2010, and June 30, 2011. Each media outlet may submit no more than two entries. Submission deadline is Aug. 1, 2011, at 11:59 p.m. PDT.

Barlett and Steele, who won two Pulitzers with The Philadelphia Inquirer and two National Magazine Awards at Time, have worked together for four decades. They are contributing editors to Vanity Fair.

“We’d like to see journalists who keep the bigger picture in mind,” said Steele. “Someone who brings an understanding of complex issues that have not been properly explained. Don and I have an informal motto: Tell the reader something they don’t know. It sounds simple. Yet a lot of journalism is a rehash of what people already know.”

Judges will be looking for investigative enterprise, strong business theme, elegant writing style, clarity and impact.

The Barlett and Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism from Reynolds Center on Vimeo.

2010 Barlett & Steele Awards for Investigative Business Reporting from Reynolds Center on Vimeo.


Applications will be accepted only online and from editors or the contest coordinator designated by your news organization. Applicants will need to provide the following on the Barlett & Steele Contest Entry Form.

• Contact information for the editor submitting the entry.

• An editor’s letter outlining any (a) obstacles in reporting, (b) reforms or impact after publication and (c) corrections or challenges to accuracy. It can be submitted as a Word document (.doc) or an Adobe Acrobat PDF (.pdf) file.

• Up to four articles, submitted as either an active URL or as a Word document (.doc) or Adobe Acrobat PDF (.pdf). A sidebar counts as an article.

Applicants do not have to file all elements in one sitting, but all elements must be uploaded before the application is submitted for consideration. The deadline for submission is 11:59 p.m. PDT on Aug. 1, 2011.

Questions? E-mail Andrew Leckey , Reynolds Center president, or call 602-496-9186.

In Barlett & Steele Awards, Basics, Featured, Investigation.

Leave a Comment

1) Register to join the community & comment or 2) Quick comment
Username: Username:
Email: Email:
Verify Password:
or 3) Login if you already have an account