Login | Help


19 journalists to receive scholarships to SABEW’s 50th birthday

Nineteen journalists have been chosen to receive scholarships to attend SABEW’s 50th anniversary conference in Washington, D.C., April 4-6.

Funding came from four separate sources – SABEW’s Dave Morrow and Benita Newton funds, plus charitable contributions from the Goldschmidt Family Foundation and the SABEW Chair at the University of Missouri, said Warren Watson, SABEW executive director.

Here are winners of this year’s grants:


  • Cassie Cope, student journalist, University of South Carolina
  • Matthew Kish, reporter, Portland (Ore.) Business Journal

(Designated for journalists of color)

  • Wendy Lee, reporter, Southern California Public Radio
  • Meena Thiruvengadam, independent journalist, Chicago
  • Marissa Evans, independent journalist, Milwaukee
  • Gabriela Rico, reporter, Arizona Daily Star
  • Lisa Du, reporter, Newsday
  • Robyn Hutson, student journalist, Howard University

(Preference given to 2012 SABEW Best in Business winners)

  • Jim Doyle, reporter, St. Louis Post-Dispatch
  • Kevin Allenspach, reporter, St. Cloud (Minn.) Times
  • Joanna Sullivan, editor, Baltimore Business Journal
  • Elvina Nawaguna, reporter, Reuters
  • Karen Miller, business editor, Reading (Pa.) Eagle
  • Adam Sichko, reporter, Business Review (Albany, N.Y.)
  • Megan Schnabel, business editor, Roakoke (Va.) Times


  • Steve Reiss, managing editor, Crain’s Chicago Business
  • Whit Richardson, business editor, Bangor (Maine) Daily News
  • Rachel Bonar, student journalist, Missouri State University
  • Sarah McBride, reporter, Reuters

Separately from SABEW, the Reynolds Center provided fellowships to two journalists to attend the 50th annual SABEW Conference. They are Jacquelinne Mejia of EC Hispanic Media and Darren L. Sands of BlackEnterprise.com.


In Basics, Featured, Networking.

Leave a Comment

1) Register to join the community & comment or 2) Quick comment
Username: Username:
Email: Email:
Verify Password:
or 3) Login if you already have an account