Barlett & Steele Awards


Reporters are invited to enter the 2017 Barlett & Steele Awards

Named for two of the most illustrious investigative business journalists in history, the annual Barlett & Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism honor the best investigative journalism covering money each year.

The awards are administered by the Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism, whose programs help journalists cover money better.

The awards feature a gold award of $5,000, a silver prize of $2,000 and a bronze award of $1,000.

Learn more about how to enter your investigative reporting in the Barlett & Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism. See past Barlett & Steele Award winners.

Hear from the 2016 Barlett & Steele Award winners:

About Donald Barlett & James Steele

Image from

Image from

Donald Barlett and James Steele have worked together for more than three decades, first at The Philadelphia Inquirer (1971-1997), where they won two Pulitzer Prizes and scores of other national journalism awards, then at Time magazine (1997-2006), where they earned two National Magazine Awards, becoming the first journalists in history to win both the Pulitzer and its magazine equivalent.

They are now contributing editors at Vanity Fair.

The Washington Journalism Review says of Barlett and Steele: “They are almost certainly the best team in the history of investigative reporting.”