2017 Barlett & Steele Awards Contest Open for Entries

by March 30, 2017
Reporters are invited to enter the 2017 Barlett & Steele Awards

Reporters are invited to enter the 2017 Barlett & Steele Awards, recognizing the best in investigative journalism.

Journalists are invited to enter their work in the 2017 Barlett & Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism.

The awards contest, administered by the Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism at the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Arizona State University, annually honors the best investigative business reporting in the country. The contest is named for the renowned investigative reporting team of Don Barlett and Jim Steele, whose numerous awards include two Pulitzer Prizes. In January, they were named contributing editors of CNN’s new investigative reporting initiative. 

Gold, silver and bronze winners receive cash awards of $5,000, $2,000 and $1,000, respectively.

“Stunning investigative business stories such as ‘Panama Papers’ and ‘Fish from Slaves’ that received Barlett & Steele Awards in recent years reflect growing momentum in probing the world of money,” said Andrew Leckey, president of the Reynolds Center. “Driving this worthy pursuit into the future will be the next group of entries we receive from dedicated journalists and diverse news organizations.”

Entries for this year’s contest must have been published between July 1, 2016, and June 30, 2017. Editors or contest coordinators of media outlets may submit up to two entries, each containing up to four articles. The entry deadline is July 31, 2017, 11:59 p.m. EST.

Entry rules and a link to the application are available here.

About Barlett and Steele

Don Barlett and Jim Steele have worked together for more than three decades, first at The Philadelphia Inquirer (1971-1997), where they won two Pulitzer Prizes and scores of other national journalism awards, then at Time magazine (1997-2006), where they earned two National Magazine Awards, becoming the first journalists in history to win both the Pulitzer and its magazine equivalent. They are now contributing editors at Vanity Fair. The Washington Journalism Review said of Barlett and Steele: “They are almost certainly the best team in the history of investigative reporting.”

About the Reynolds Center

The Reynolds Center is part of the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication at ASU. Since 2003, more than 22,000 journalists have benefitted from the Reynolds Center’s free training. The center’s mission is to help journalists improve business coverage through in-person and online training and its website, BusinessJournalism.org.

The center is funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation, a national philanthropic organization founded in 1954 by the late media entrepreneur for whom it is named. Headquartered in Las Vegas, it has committed more than $145 million nationwide through its journalism program.

Related Links

About the Barlett & Steele Awards

Barlett & Steele Awards Rules and Application 

2016 Barlett & Steele Award Winners

2015 Barlett & Steele Award Winners

2014 Barlett & Steele Award Winners 

2013 Barlett & Steele Award Winners

2012 Barlett & Steele Award Winners