Barlett & Steele Awards Rules 2017

by March 15, 2017

The Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism celebrates the best in print and online investigative business journalism each year with the Barlett & Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism.

Named for two-time Pulitzer Prize-winning journalists Don Barlett and Jim Steele, the awards were first given in 2007 and feature a gold award of $5,000, a silver prize of $2,000 and a bronze award of $1,000.

“Don and I have an informal motto: Tell the reader something they don’t know,” said Steele, who with Barlett also won two National Magazine Awards. “It sounds simple, yet a lot of journalism is a rehash of what people already know.”

Entries for the 2017 award must have appeared in the year ending June 30, 2017. Each media outlet may submit no more than two entries.

How to Apply by July 31, 2017

Applications will be accepted only online and from editors or the contest coordinator designated by your news organization. Applicants will need to provide the following on the application form.

• Contact information for the editor submitting the entry.

• An editor’s letter outlining any (a) obstacles in reporting, (b) reforms or impact after publication and (c) corrections or challenges to accuracy. It can be submitted as a Word document (.doc) or an Adobe Acrobat PDF (.pdf) file.

•Up to four articles for each individual entry, submitted as either an active URL or as a Word document (.doc) or Adobe Acrobat PDF (.pdf). A sidebar counts as an article.

The deadline for submission is 11:59 p.m. PT on July 31, 2017.

See past Barlett & Steele Award winners.