Deadline to Enter 2018 Barlett & Steele Awards July 31

by July 2, 2018
Barlett and Steele Awards

The entry deadline for the 2018 Barlett & Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism is July 31.

Tuesday, July 31, is the deadline for the 2018 Barlett & Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism, the nation’s top investigative business journalism competition.

The annual awards contest, named in honor of renowned investigative business journalists Donald L. Barlett and James B. Steele, celebrates the best in investigative business journalism each year. It is sponsored by the Donald W. Reynolds National Center for Business Journalism at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication.

Entry rules and a link to the application are available here. Gold, silver and bronze winners receive cash awards of $5,000, $2,000 and $1,000, respectively.

Please contact the Reynolds Center’s Rian Bosse at 602-496-9190 with any entry questions.

Former winners

Last year’s Barlett & Steele Gold Award winner was “Dangerous Doses” by the Chicago Tribune. The Silver Award went to The Post and Courier for “Sticking with the Pig” and MedPage Today received the Bronze Award for “Lowering the Bar.”

You can watch the video of last year’s winning entries here.

Entries for this year’s contest must have been published between July 1, 2017, and June 30, 2018. Editors or contest coordinators of media outlets may submit up to two entries, each containing up to four articles. Entries from freelancers are also encouraged.

About Barlett and Steele

Barlett and Steele have worked together for more than three decades, first at The Philadelphia Inquirer (1971-1997), where they won two Pulitzer Prizes and scores of other national journalism awards, then at Time magazine (1997-2006), where they earned two National Magazine Awards, becoming the first journalists in history to win both the Pulitzer and its magazine equivalent. They are now contributing editors at Vanity Fair and at CNN’s new investigative reporting initiative.

In addition to the awards contest, the Reynolds Center at the Cronkite School provides journalists with training and resources to help them cover business better. Since 2003, more than 22,000 journalists have benefitted from the center’s free training, much of which is available at

The center is funded by the Donald W. Reynolds Foundation, a national philanthropic organization founded in 1954 by the late media entrepreneur for whom it is named. Headquartered in Las Vegas, it has committed more than $145 million nationwide through its journalism program.