Celebrating the best in investigative business journalism

Barlett & Steele Awards

2022 Global/National Award Winners: The reporting team from American Public Media, Salt Lake Tribune, and KUER public radio

2023 Awards

The Barlett and Steele Awards, named in honor of renowned investigative business journalists Donald L. Barlett and James B. Steele, were expanded in 2022! The awards now have two categories: one for news organizations with a national or global audience and one for publications with a regional or local focus. Additionally, an award will be given to an Outstanding Young Journalist that will recognize the work of a journalist under 30 years of age who demonstrates outstanding ability in investigative business reporting.

Global/National Publications

News organizations with a national or global audience and/or a newsroom with more than 100 editorial staff.

Gold – $3,000

Silver – $2,000

Bronze – $1,000

Regional/Local Publications

Organizations with a regional or local focus and/or a newsroom with 100 or fewer journalists.

Gold – $3,000

Silver – $2,000

Bronze – $1,000

Outstanding Young Journalist

A journalist under 30 years of age who demonstrates outstanding ability in investigative business reporting.

Gold – $3,000

Requirements for entry:

Entries will be accepted between June 1st, 2023 and July 31st, 2023 for articles originally published or broadcast between July 1st, 2022 and June 30th, 2023. Applications will be accepted only online and from editors or the contest coordinator designated by your news organization. Entries from freelance journalists are welcome but must be accompanied by a letter from an editor or director.

Each media outlet may submit no more than two entries per category (two for either the national or regional category and two for outstanding young journalist, for a total of four entries max per media outlet). 

There are no entry fees for the 2023 Barlett and Steele Awards.

Entries must include:

  • Either active links or PDFs of published work. Any links behind paywalls must include instructions on how they can be accessed by judges.
  • No more than three works of journalism (articles, videos, podcasts, etc.). Videos and podcasts should be no longer than 20 minutes each. All materials must be in English, or have an English-language translation. 
  • Nomination letter that addresses any obstacles encountered in reporting, any reforms or impact as a result of publication, and any corrections or challenges to accuracy. For the Young Journalist Award, the nomination should include relevant biographical details of the nominee.
  • Contact information for the editor or director submitting the entry.


Entries for the Barlett & Steele Awards will undergo an initial vetting round by the faculty of Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication, with a panel of distinguished financial journalists making the final decision for each award. Winners will be announced in October 2023 with an award ceremony to be held in early November in downtown Phoenix.

If you have any questions about the entry or award process please contact us.