Donald W. Reynolds National Center For Business Journalism

Two Minute Tips

WSJ, Bloomberg, NYT take 2011 Gerald Loeb Awards

June 29, 2011

Share this article:

The Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg News and The New York Times each took home multiple awards among the 13 categories in the 2011 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism announced June 28 in New York City.

Steven Pearlstein, business columnist at The Washington Post, won the Lifetime Achievement Award in the annual competition administered by the UCLA Anderson School of Management. The Pulitzer winner will join the faculty of George Mason University in fall 2011.

Hank Gilman of Fortune magazine received the Lawrence Minard Editor Award. Named in memory of Laury Minard, founding editor of Forbes Global, it recognizes an editor who does not receive a byline.

From among more than 500 entries, here are the other winners in the competition for the highest awards in business journalism:

Gerald Loeb Award for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism
Gerald Loeb Award for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism

The awards were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, founding partner of the brokerage firm E.F. Hutton, to honor journalists who contribute to the understanding of business, finance and the economy.

You can read about the finalists here.

More Like This...

Get Two Minute Tips For Business Journalism Delivered To Your Email Every Tuesday

Two Minute Tips

Every Tuesday we send out a quick-read email with tips for business journalism. Sign up now and get one Tuesday.