Best in Business: SABEW Winners 2013

by February 27, 2014

SABEW has announced winners in the 19th annual Best in Business competition.

Bloomberg News and its related media outlets, including Bloomberg Markets, Bloomberg BusinessWeek and Bloomberg TV, led with 13 honors.  The New York Times had eight honors; Reuters, seven; American Banker, six; and the Los Angeles Times and ProPublica had five honors each.

FULL LIST of SABEW winners:  2013 BiB Winners’ List

For the first time, the Society of American Business Editors and Writers’ contest, singled out a winner in each category. 

Kevin G. Hall, SABEW president and chief economics coorespondent for McClatchy Newspapers, congratulated the winners who came from a very strong batch of entries.

Awards will be presented during ceremonies on March 29 at the Sheraton Phoenix Hotel during SABEW’s 51st annual conference.

SABEW named Mina Kimes, 28, an investigative reporter for Bloomberg News, as their inaugural winner of the Larry Birger Young Business Journalist prize, honoring journalists under 30 years old.

Reynolds Center’s Training Director Kelly Carr and her reporting partner Scot Paltrow won the News Agencies Investigative category with “Unaccountable,” a Reuters investigation into bureaucratic mismanagement in the Pentagon.  “Unaccountable” earned Carr and Paltrow a finalist spot in the News Agencies Explanatory category.