Donald W. Reynolds National Center For Business Journalism

Two Minute Tips

Twenty business journalists to follow, if you don’t already

January 27, 2022

Share this article:

Journalists live and breathe on Twitter, and following each other is a sign of respect (or possibly fear). While some business journalists boast followings in the hundreds of thousands, the Reynolds Center has compiled an unscientific list of 20 business journalists with a somewhat smaller fanbase who are worth following. 

Sports

Amanda Christovich @achristovichh

Reporter at Front Office Sports focused on college sports.

Jabari Young @JabariJYoung

Reporter at CNBC best known for his coverage of the San Antonio Spurs and the NBA.

Kendall Baker @kendallbaker

Sports editor at Axios and the author of the daily Axios Sports newsletter.

Meredith Cash @mercash22

Reporter at Insider covering all games played on a field, court, rink, diamond, or gridiron with a focus on women’s sports.

Paula Lavigne @pinepaula

Investigative reporter at ESPN who has investigated sexual assault in professional and college athlets, fraudulent pro-athlete charities, gambling on youth sports, and many other sports topics.

Startups and venture capital

Melia Russell @meliarobin

Melia is a tech correspondent at Insider whose bio states she is ‘focused on growth-stage companies, the funding deals that investors are clamoring to get into, and workplace issues.’

Matt Drange @mattdrange

Senior correspondent at Insider and was named the best young business journalist in 2019 by SABEW.

Shartia Brantley @ShartiaBrantley

Shartia is Deputy New York Bureau Chief at Bloomberg News and a Senior Editor for the Amerias at Bloomberg Live.

Eliot Brown @eliotwb

Reporter at The Wall Street Journal and co-author of the Cult of We.

Technology

Erica Pandey @erica_pandey

Reporter at Axios covering technology trends that are shaping the future of work.

Sarah Needleman @sarahneedleman

Reporter at The Wall Street Journal covering technology.

Rosalie Chan @rosaliechan17

Senior reporter covering enterprise tech at Insider.

Market and finance

Dion Rabouin @DionRabouin

Reporter at The Wall Street Journal who will be the inaugural host of their soon-to-launch WSJ YouTube markets video channel.

Jennifer Kingson @jenniferkingson

Managing editor for business news at Axios.

Weston Blasi @wastonblasi

Reporter at MarketWatch.

Sharon Epperson @sharon_epperson

Senior Personal Finance Correspondent at CNBC.

Other business sectors

Craig Karmin @CraigKarmin

Real Estate Bureau Chief at The Wall Street Journal and wrote the best-seller Biography of the Dollar.

Lauren Thomas @laurenthomas

Reporter for CNBC covering retail, retail real estate & fitness.

Meg Graham @megangraham

Advertising & marketing reporter for CMO Today at The Wall Street Journal.

Michelle Maltais @mmaltaisLA

Managing editor for money and consumer news at USA Today.

More Like This...

Five takeaways from recent business investigations

For business beat reporters looking for story ideas or inspiration, here are five watchdog stories to spark creativity. The stories, all published in the first seven months of 2022, touch

Think like a business owner. Not a freelancer.

Not all journalism grads will work as full-time staff for a news organization. Maybe after searching on JournalismJobs.com and following up with journalism school contacts, you’ll choose to become a

Get Two Minute Tips For Business Journalism Delivered To Your Email Every Tuesday

Two Minute Tips

Every Tuesday we send out a quick-read email with tips for business journalism. Sign up now and get one Tuesday.