WSJ, Bloomberg, NYT take 2011 Gerald Loeb Awards

by June 29, 2011

Loeb Awards for Distinguished JournalismThe Wall Street Journal, Bloomberg News and The New York Times each took home multiple awards among the 13 categories in the 2011 Gerald Loeb Awards for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism announced June 28 in New York City.

Steven Pearlstein, business columnist at The Washington Post, won the Lifetime Achievement Award in the annual competition administered by the UCLA Anderson School of Management. The Pulitzer winner will join the faculty of George Mason University in fall 2011.

Hank Gilman of Fortune magazine received the Lawrence Minard Editor Award. Named in memory of Laury Minard, founding editor of Forbes Global, it recognizes an editor who does not receive a byline.

From among more than 500 entries, here are the other winners in the competition for the highest awards in business journalism:

  • Breaking News: Tom Lauricella, Peter A. McKay, Scott Patterson, Jenny Strasburg, Robin Sidel, Carolyn Cui and Mary Pilon for “Flash Crash” in The Wall Street Journal.
Gerald Loeb Award for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism

Gerald Loeb Award for Distinguished Business and Financial Journalism

The awards were established in 1957 by the late Gerald Loeb, founding partner of the brokerage firm E.F. Hutton, to honor journalists who contribute to the understanding of business, finance and the economy.

You can read about the finalists here.

The deadline — Aug. 1 — is approaching for another major business journalism contest, the Reynolds Center’s Barlett & Steele Awards for Investigative Business Journalism. To enter work published in the year ending June 30, 2011, click here. Prizes total $8,000.